The End Complete by Obituary


In stock

SKU: 3760053844453 Categories: , Tags: ,


My love affair with Obituary began with seeing the video to “The End Complete” on VHS as a teenager.  I’d never heard or seen anything like it, and laughed uncontrollably in sheer amazement that anyone would want to produce something like that.  Why does the guitar sound like a hoover?  Why is the singer just screaming?  Why can’t I make out any words?  Why does the same riff keep repeating? Why is their hair so good?  Just… Why?

For making me laugh so much I kept coming back to it, and over time with more listens it sunk in.  Obituary combine an unmatched expression of horror with a devastating groove: born of repeated riffing and propelled by the almost jazziness of Donald Tardy’s drumming.  The indecipherable lyrics allow the listener to enjoy the rich timbre and texture of John Tardy’s vocal, communicating such a sense of dread and terror, that like reaching the end of a scary movie leaves you feeling that everything is ok.

Magical stuff.

OBITUARY is an American death metal band formed in October 1984 in Tampa, Florida. Initially called EXECUTIONER, the band changed their name to Xecutioner in 1986 to avoid confusion with the thrash metal band EXECUTIONER from Boston and then changed their name once again to OBITUARY in 1988. The band’s current lineup consists of vocalist John Tardy, drummer Donald Tardy, rhythm guitarist Trevor Peres, bassist Terry Butler and lead guitarist Kenny Andrews. OBITUARY has gone through several lineup changes, with the Tardy brothers and Peres being the only constant members. The band was a fundamental act in the development of death metal music and is one of the most successful death metal bands of all time. To date, OBITUARY has released ten studio albums and with the exception of their 1997–2003 split, they continue to perform live around the world. In November and December 2018, OBITUARY will embark on a European tour as part of SLAYER’s farewell tour, also featuring LAMB OF GOD and ANTHRAX. Listenable records is very pleased to re release All legendary and much sought after albums in limited edition vinyl, those gems haven’t been made available for too many years!


  1. I’m In Pain
  2. Back To One
  3. Dead Silence
  4. In The End Of Life
  5. Sickness
  6. Corrosive
  7. Killing Time
  8. The End Complete
  9. Rotting Ways


You may also like…