A Common Truth by Saltland


A Common Truth by Saltland. Released 31st March 2017 by Constellation Records. Preorder the vinyl from the LP Cafe in store or online now.

Out of stock

Notify me when this item becomes available


The second album by Saltland, the solo project of veteran Montreal cellist and composer Rebecca Foon (Esmerine, Thee Silver Mt Zion, Set Fire To Flames). With A Common Truth, Foon presents a new song cycle that takes climate change as its theme (Foon is co-founder of Pathway to Paris, among other organizing and activist roles in the decarbonization movement) and features her cello as the primary source for all sounds on the record.

The one notable exception: Warren Ellis (Nick Cave, The Dirty Three) is the sole invited guest player, contributing his inimitable violin (and pump organ) to the album’s four instrumental tracks. A Common Truth is an album of gorgeous integrity, restraint, and meditative intensity that alternates between wordless instrumentals and lyric-driven pieces, balancing austere, organic intimacy and lush, multi-layered expansiveness.

The naturalistic rock production of Jace Lasek (The Besnard Lakes) anchors Saltland’s juxtaposition of dry and processed strings, with Foon’s voice very much within the mix but never veiled or concealed; a voice described as “an instrument of somnolent, gossamer allure which floats gracefully amid the eddying, amniotic music” (Mojo).

Track listing

  1.  To Allow Us All To Breathe
  2. Under My Skin
  3. I Only Wish This For You
  4. Light Of Mercy
  5. Forward Eyes I
  6. Magnolia
  7. This Other Place
  8. A Common Truth
  9. Forward Eyes II